Fatherhood of a Black-rumped Flameback

DSC_1240.jpg

This photo was clicked at Kalu Ganga reservoir construction site, Laggala in last June, 2017. It was the morning and I heard this ki-ki-krrr noise when I got out of the room to make a call. My instincts made me step up for some investigation; so i found this wood pecker feeding the babies.

This burrow is some what 40 feet up in a dried up branch of a tree and the wood pecker made frequent visits within about 4-5 minutes with food to feed the babies. I think that I saw another grown up wood pecker inside the burrow (most probably the female), but am not sure.

This was the best shot I could get at the moment as I had only the 140 lens set with me.

Leave a Reply

